Creation 2019

The Woods so Wild
English instrumental music from the Renaissance to Purcell

In this program : Holborne, Tye, Mundy, Locke, Purcell...

 

The recording of The Woods so Wild  will be released during the summer 2020 under the label Paraty, and distributed by Harmonia mundi. 

The practice of "consort" playing reached its peak during the Renaissance period. Instruments such as viol, lute, violin and recorder were grouped into families and available in different sizes, these groups were called "consort".

 

The abundant and extremely rich literature dedicated to the consort playing in England as well as the impressive private collection of Henry VIII gathering no less than 70 recorders of different sizes, viola da gamba and violins testify to the great enthusiasm that this practice aroused.

 

Consort Brouillamini heads for England with his new program The Woods so Wild recently recorded and invites you to travel over 150 years of music: from William Mundy to Matthew Locke, from Hugh Ashton to Henry Purcell.

A. Holborne - The Fairie-Round
00:00 / 00:00

The  Woods so Wild
Musique instrumentale anglaise de la Renaissance à Purcell
A.Holborne - The Fairie-Round
00:00 / 00:00

Dans ce programme : Holborne, Tye, Mundy, Locke, Purcell...

The Woods so Wild a fait l'objet d'un enregistrement  discographique sortie en 2020 par le label paraty, distribué par Harmonia mundi. 

La pratique du jeu en « consort » a connu son apogée à l’époque de la Renaissance. Les instruments tels que les violes, luths, violons et flûtes à bec étaient regroupées en famille et déclinés sous différentes tailles, on nommait ces ensembles « consort ».

La littérature abondante et extrêmement riche dédiée au jeu de consort en Angleterre ainsi que l’impressionnante collection privée d’Henry VIII rassemblant pas moins de 70 flûtes à bec de tailles différentes, violes de gambes et violons témoignent du grand engouement que cette pratique suscita.

C’est avec son nouveau programme « The Woods so Wild » récemment enregistré que le Consort Brouillamini met le cap sur l’Angleterre et vous invite à parcourir plus de 150 ans de musique : de William Mundy à Matthew Locke, de Hugh Ashton à Henry Purcell.

Création 2019